contemporary classical
music publishing

Bernd Asmus

Bernd Asmus Gewölk

for small ensemble

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Gewölk - score
Gewölk - score (download)

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


The composition Gewölk is written for a small ensemble of three woodwinds (flute, clarinet, bassoon), three strings (violin, viola, cello) and piano. It is based on four morphological elements which are merged in the course of a confrontation between the common equally divided 12-tone system and a chain intonation system of (only) four just intervals. Apart from just intonation and equal temperament, secondary intervals emerge which do not belong to either of these systems and enrich the harmonic colour of the composition in a highly individual way. - The title refers to a well-known temptation which, during summer time, makes us lie backwards in the grass and watch the passing cloud configurations, thus getting lost, feeling the immense space between ourselves and those movements and - at the same time - transcending it.

If you require an English translation of the programme notes for this work, please contact Composers Edition.

Additional Information

ISMN 9790570682010
Composer Bernd Asmus
Year of Composition 1996
Instrumentation Flute, Clarinet in Bb, Bassoon, Piano, Violin, Viola, Violoncello
Duration ca. 15'
Student Difficulty No

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.