Los Murmullos

for solo piano

Anne LeBaron

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for solo piano

Ask about this work
Composer Anne LeBaron
Year of Composition 2006
Duration ca.11'



Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-alb1lm1


The Mexican poet Octavio Paz once said that Juan Rulfo is “the only Mexican novelist to have provided us an image – rather than a mere description – of our physical surroundings.” Referencing spectral murmurs filtering through the streets of Comala, whisperings of dreams, and groanings in the ghost town cemetery of Juan Rulfo’s seminal and only novel Pedro Páramo, this composition for solo piano requires the pianist to whisper, speak, shout, intone, and perform with a special seed rattle.   The combination of piano, vocalizations, and percussion serves to illuminate the secret otherworldly utterances populating Rulfo’s deserted Mexican village. In fact, in 1954, when the novel first appeared, although in a fragmentary form, Rulfo gave it the title, Los Murmullos, translated as “The Murmurs.”

The Mexican-American pianist Ana Cervantes commissioned Los Murmullos in 2006 for her “Rumores” project. She subsequently toured it extensively throughout Mexico, South America, and the U.S. It represents the first installment of an ambitious twelve-part set, The Well-Read Clavier, combining works of literature with piano performance.

The use in this musical composition of the title “Los Murmullos,” as well as of the fragments of “Pedro Páramo,” work of Juan Rulfo, has been authorized by Señora Clara Aparicio de Rulfo.