contemporary classical
music publishing

Aleksandra Vrebalov

Passion Revisited
Aleksandra Vrebalov Passion Revisited

for piano trio

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
Passion Revisited - score (download)
Passion Revisited - score
Passion Revisited - score and parts (download)
Passion Revisited - score and parts

Share this work
Facebook Twitter Email

Be the first to review this product


Written for the Mannes' 2006 Bach and Baroque Legacy Festival, Passion Revisited is a piano trio written in homage to J. S. Bach. The piece is based on Bach's aria for alto 'Erbarme dich, mein Gott' from St. Mathew's Passion.

Passion Revisited refers to Bach's legacy both through its form and its musical material. The piece consists of two related parts borrowed from the baroque tradition - Air and Fugue. Air is built on the harmonic skeleton of Bach's aria, as if looked at through a magnifying glass. The harmonic changes of just a few opening measures of the original aria are stretched out to form a transparent, yet intricate fabric of the Air. The piece closes with a four-part Fugue in strict counterpoint, with the subject derived from the vocal line of 'Erbarme dich.'

Additional Information

Composer Aleksandra Vrebalov
Year of Composition 2005
Instrumentation Piano, Violin, Violoncello
Duration ca. 10'
Student Difficulty N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.