Looking Through Mirrors

for solo piano

Alastair Greig

Logged-in user discounts applied
Log in to get discounts (now or at checkout)
Ask us about multi-copy choral discounts


for solo piano

Ask about this work
Composer Alastair Greig
Year of Composition 1997
Duration ca.28'


Categories (all composers) ,
Catalogue ID ce-ag2ltm1



The Times 1998

‘Brilliant music imagination… a five-movement suite paying obvious homage to Ravel, but also Beethoven. Certainly difficult, nevertheless it is finely conceived for the instrument.’

Birmingham Post 1998

Bromsgrove Mixing Music commissioned the suite for Rolf Hind who gave the first performance in February 1998.

For quite a while I have wished to create a digital copy of the hand written score and I am pleased to say that I have not had to make extensive revisions to the pieces although the first in the set has undergone a slight change. Moreover the process of revisiting a work composed over 20 years ago and digitising has been a labour of love rather than just a necessary chore. In most cases it has been a tweak here and there or tidying up the notation to allow the ‘logic’ of a computer to manage some of the aleatoric sections.