Composers Edition

Welcome to Composers Edition - rethinking contemporary music publishing.

Kirsty Devaney

"Kirsty is emerging as one of the most exciting composers of her generation. Her music is bold, constantly inventive, containing real emotional depth. It's music that draws you in, and doesn't let you go.
Joe Cutler

"Kirsty has a clear and refreshing voice as a composer and engages with musicians, students and audiences alike.
David Curtis, Orchestra of the Swan

A very warm Composers Edition welcome to Kirsty Devaney. Evocative, often delicately balanced, Devaney's works draw the listener in to a revelatory inner world and in doing so create an immediate and lasting impact.  A Junior Fellow of Birmingham Conservatoire, she is particularly interested in introducing new music to those who may be less familiar with it and alongside composing is currently investigating composing in secondary school education.  

Devaney's initial Composers Edition offering include Submerge for strings and amplified harpsichord commissioned by Orchestra of the Swan, piano trio Nebula & Pulsar, composed for the Schubert Ensemble's Chamber Music 2000 and [as if on a pivot] composed for Arden Recorder Orchestra as part of the Adopt a Composer scheme.

Find out more...

Posted By Site Owner
Robert Fokkens website



Posted By Site Owner
Vic Hoyland

'one of the most distinctive voices of his generation in British music
Andrew Clements, The Guardian

We're delighted to welcome Vic Hoyland to Composers Edition, publishing his post-1994 works. A Haywood Fellow at the Barber Institute (1980-84), Hoyland is Emeritus Professor of Composition at the University of Birmingham where he taught for more than 26 years.

The initial Composers Edition works include his triptych of BBC-commissioned orchestral works comprising Phoenix, Qibti and Vixen. Described variously as "Continuously enthralling" (Paul Driver) and "Impressive writing - and fascinating listening” (Observer), recordings of these were released to great acclaim by NMC.  

We're also publishing the more recent and monumental WULF for 24 voices (amplified) and 24 instruments (2014). These larger works are complimented in the initial selection by chamber works including String Quartet No.3 (Bagatelles)Sicilian vespas for flute and piano and the BCMG-premiered Hey Presto! "A gripping discourse between the Commedia dell’Arte characters… teams with drama."

Find out more...

Posted By Site Owner
Craig Vear

'Vear shines in the extended format like a good short story writer who suddenly discovers he's a great novelist

'a blend of intellectual rigour and a powerful emotional directness that goes straight to the heart' 
Gavin Bryars

We're delighted to welcome Craig Vear to Composers Edition and publish his innovative digital scores.

Working with found materials, Craig Vear's pioneering reactive digital performance materials point the way forward for artful,  interactive composition for live performance.  Described by as 'abstract spirituality' and often taking inspiration from art, film or text, each of his works is deftly crafted to take the listener on a journey of memory and imagination.  All of the works on offer through Composers Edition operate on both PC and Mac computers and comprise all of the software and files required for performance plus straightforward instructions. They also come with the support of Composers Edition and the composer himself.

Work in focus : Three Last Letters

Arising from a residency with the British Antarctic Survey and premiered at the Vale of Glamorgan FestivalThree Last Letters reimagines the the last moments inside the minds of Scott, WIlson and Bowers on the Antartic Ice Shelf in 1912.  Drawing on Scott's diary, final letters from the three explorers, Antarctic field recordings and the music of Elgar it creates a powerful live experience.


Find out more...

Posted By Site Owner

Items 1 to 4 of 52 total

per page
Set Descending Direction

New Works

About Composers Edition

The newly launched Composers Edition offers ready access to professional composers' own imprints, delivered in days to your door, or downloaded in seconds!

Our speedy print-on-demand and digital download service means that new works can be available days after the composer has finished composing.

What's more, because composers retain all rights to their works, by purchasing through Composers Edition customers are helping to ensure that composers get the maximum return for their skilled creative endeavours.

We'll be adding more Composers soon, so do keep in touch via our mailing list and social media (see right).

I'm a Composer - Can I publish my works with Composers Edition?

Composers Edition offers a subscription based service to professional composers.

Providing you produce well presented scores and parts and can demonstrate significant demand for your works, then Composers Edition can help.

To find out more go to Composer Application.

Magento Flexible Products Widget by EMThemes Magento Themes & Magento Templates